Interview with Kathryn Jakubowski: Senior Designer for Runway 5.0

Runway is nothing without their Senior Designer collections…this post we will be interviewing Kathryn Jakubowski, a prospective Senior Designer for Runway 5.0!

 

RW: Tell me a little about yourself (where you are from, age, hobbies): 

KJ: I’m 21, from Buffalo, New York. I love to design and sew, travel, go on adventures with my boyfriend, and hang out with friends. Oh and gaze at pictures of pug puppies, I may have a small obsession with their cuteness!

 

RW: Why did you ultimately pick Buffalo State College to kick-start your fashion career?
KJ: Design is a career path I’ve always wanted to take, and I applied to a few different schools in and outside of the area. Buffalo State felt natural, and I loved the program from the start. 


RW: How have you developed as a designer since you entered BSC?
KJ: I’ve developed immensely. When I began college, I didn’t even know how to sew properly! Here at school I learned the necessary skills to technically create garments, as well as how to approach and fully understand ideas to turn them into creative concepts. I took the opportunity to study abroad in Manchester, England, and MMU has been an amazing university to attend in conjunction with BSC. 


RW: Where have you drawn your inspiration from for you Runway 5.0 collection?
KJ: I played around with the theme idea of synthesis, and tried to combine that with the nostalgic explanations provided in WGSN’s “Cinematic” Trend forecast. The essence of nostalgia is time, so I started looking at daytime or nighttime photography with vintage effects. I ultimately reached a day vs. the night theme, visually explaining the unity between the productive and work-oriented nature of day contrasting with the romance and adventure of night, a cycle that provides a unified balance and perfect harmony in our lives.

 

RW: Where do you plan on taking your fashion career in the future?
KJ: I have sooo many ideas! I’ve had the travel bug after studying in England, and I would love to spend some time in different cities around the world. New York City has my heart. I plan to move there at some point after graduation, to begin my life as a designer perhaps freelancing for a few companies and begin working my way up. Ultimately I would love to have my own label partnered with my sister! She went to school for fashion as well! 


RW: Who is your designer or style icon?
KJ: A few designers/labels are Alexander Mcqueen, Elizabeth and James, Band of Outsiders, Mulberry, and lingerie duo The Lake and Stars. As far as style icons, I would say I always gravitate towards classic fifties icons and as of lately, Rooney Mara, I love everything she has been wearing!

 

Come see Kathryn April 21st at Runway 5.0! Tickets are now on sale! You can purchase your tickets for both shows at two locations; Rockwell Hall at Buffalo State College, or through any WNY Wegmans.

Leave a comment

Filed under BSCRUNWAY, Runway 5.0

Leave a Reply

