Interview with Kendra Folsom: Senior Designer for Runway 5.0

Kendra Folsom is another Senior Designer that we are ecstatic about for this year’s Runway 5.0! Keep reading to find out more about Kendra and her journey.

RW: Tell me a little about yourself (where you are from, age, hobbies): 

KF: I am 23 years old. born and raised in Buffalo. I like theater watching as well as performing. I have been in 13 shows to date. Although I haven’t had enough time to do one lately; probably over the summer I will get away from that unlucky little number. 

 

RW: Why did you ultimately pick Buffalo State College to kick-start your fashion career?

KF: I went to Buffalo State because I didn’t even know that I was very good at design until my senior year of high school when my theater teacher encouraged me to major in it in college. By that time it was really too late to get a portfolio together in time for applications -plus half my graduating class was going to Buffalo State anyway- but fortunately it turned out to be a great program.

 

RW: How have you developed as a designer since you entered BSC? 

KF: The program has helped in everything from sewing techniques to leaning the computer programs that designers are actually using in the industry right now, to putting on your own runway show! 

 

RW: Where have you drawn your inspiration from for you Runway 5.0 collection?

KF: The inspiration for the collection started from WGSN’s theme of Primal Futurism. It is the everyday woman who is growing up in the generation after the worlds demise. She has to be ready at any second to defend or hunt but has to look good doing it (someone has to keep the new world populated. haha). The actual pieces have elements of rope for her to set traps and arrows for hunting through out the collection.

 

RW: Where do you plan on taking your fashion career in the future?

KF: I haven’t decided fully on what I want to do yet. Possibly something with CAD or I am interested in pattern making as well. But I know that I want to be in Portland Oregon doing it.

 

Come see Kendra April 21st at Runway 5.0! Tickets are now on sale! You can purchase your tickets for both shows at two locations; Rockwell Hall at Buffalo State College, or through any WNY Wegmans.

Leave a comment

Filed under BSCRUNWAY, Runway 5.0

Leave a Reply

