Featured Post: BSC Alum Ade Samuel

 The Buffalo State College Fashion Technology program has some absolutely incredible alumni that have branched out into all aspects of the fashion industry. Ade Samuel, an alum of the program, is now working at Teen Vogue, and was actually a part of the original Runway! Read on to find out more about Ade and her journey, as well as her advice for upcoming freshmen and graduating seniors.
Ade Samuel and Shenae Grimes in September 2011 Teen Vogue issue.
RW: Tell me a few things about yourself and your involvement in the fashion industry?
AS: Of course! I graduated from Buffalo State with a Bachelor in Fashion Merchandising and Textile tecnology as well obtained an additional degree from FIT in Advertising and Marketing Communications. After graduating, I was hired as the fashion assistant at Teen Vogue magazine. (I was an intern first!) I was then promoted as the Accessories Market Assistant. After an amazing two years, I decided to branch into my career path of styling. I am currently the first style assistant to Jen Patryn!

RW: How has your experiences at Buffalo State College in the Fashion & Textile Technology program prepare you for your current endeavors?

AS: Buffalo State was my foundation and created the path for where I am today. The professors understood the industry and how much work it took to break in. While there I was taught many of the fundamentals I utilize today such as, trending, understanding textiles/fabrics as well retail buying (to name the least!)

 

RW: What was your most memorable experience at Buffalo State College? 

AS: One of my most memorable experiences had to be assisting Professor Erin Habes develop and create the annual Runway show in Buffalo. That was a staple moment for me and I am proud to see how the show continues to develop!

 

RW: Who is your ultimate style icon and why? 

AS: This is a tricky question! I honestly don’t have a “style icon.” To me, there are so many celebrities who had major fashion moments that I have admired. Those people were: Kate Moss, Victoria Beckham, Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen, DvF, Tracy Ellis Ross, Diana Ross and of course- Sarah Jessica Parker aka Carrie Bradshaw!

 

RW: Where do you see yourself in 10 years? Is it fashion-related? 

AS: Love this question! I hope that in 10 years I own a few fashion franchise. I am still fresh to the industry and it is all a work in progress for me!

 

RW: What advice would you give for both upcoming and graduating students? :

AS: My advice for the upcoming freshmen class is to utilize the programs and clubs that Buffalo State has to offer, those clubs will allow for you to stay active and network with future fashion industry employers. (Remember: you NEVER know where someone will end up- start to build relationships!) My advice to the graduating class would be to stay focus and continue to intern! The fashion industry is not solely based on who you know but how you work and your intern reputation carries throughout your career.

 

And don’t forget…tickets are now on sale for Runway 5.0! You can purchase your tickets for both shows at two locations; Rockwell Hall at Buffalo State College, or through any WNY Wegmans. See you on April 21st!

1 Comment

Filed under Runway 5.0, Tickets

One response to “Featured Post: BSC Alum Ade Samuel

  1. Paris white

    Reading this article allows mr to push my self closer to my dreams. This article shows me you have to movtatived and drive. For your own success and it helps me to stay focus. I love when I see and hear things like this because it drivers me!!!! Great article and great feed back.

Leave a comment