Interview: Senior Designer Alana Fogel

Runway 5.0 is TOMORROW! The designers are preparing their last minute touches to their garments, and the production team is setting up an amazing venue at the Pierce Arrow Building. One of the senior designers, Alana Fogel, tells us a little about her collection, as well as her journey into becoming a designer.

 

RW: Tell me a little about yourself (where you are from, age, hobbies)?

AF: So im 22 years old, born in Brooklyn, and currently living on Long Island. I am a drummer, a huge New York Rangers fan, a radio talk show host and a movie enthausist.

 

RW: Why did you ultimately pick Buffalo State College to kick-start your fashion career?

AF: Buffalo State sort of picked me. I was accepted as a freshman but chose another school and hated it. Which lead me to my transfer as a sophmore to Buffalo and now I will be finishing my degree from here.

 

RW: How have you developed as a designer since you entered BSC?

AF: I know the growing process is still occuring and will be noticed more when I am working in my future. 

 
RW: Where have you drawn your inspiration from for you Runway 5.0 collection?

AF: My inspiration for my collection was 1940’s war movies. I love history and movies and the 40’s was a time period I didn’t get a chance to review the fashion and I wanted to bring something old and turn it modern – for a sophisticated woman.

 

RW: Where do you plan on taking your fashion career in the future?
AF: I aspire to have a bridal gown company that turns global. I would be interested in special occasion as well, but wedding gowns has always been my passion.

RW: Who is your designer or style icon?

AF: To pick just one icon would just be cruel. I love everything from Betsey Johnson to Oscar De La Renta.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under BSCRUNWAY, Eastman, M & T Bank, New Era, Runway 5.0, Runway Scholarships, Runway Sponsors, Taco Bell, Tickets, Vitamin Water, VitaminWater, You and Who

Leave a Reply

