Senior Designer Fashion Spotlight: An Interview with Laura Piccirillo ‘14

runwayphotoshop

A Long Island native, Laura is a “photographer at heart and loves to do anything creative”, including fashion design. With the amount of passion in her, Laura has “landed three internships with professional designers and a New York TIMES photographer.” Our Runway team was fortunate to hear her story behind her collection, Trichromatic, her experience in Runway, as well as her future goals.

 

How did you get started in design and what inspired you to become a designer? 

I believe we all have great creative ideas, but might not have the skill to express it whether it’s with music, a brush, or design software skills. I have a large respect for fashion and personal style, so I wanted to learn how to make and create clothing from my own ideas. Also being a part of previous design and production teams, as well as assisting at Mass Appeal and Runway shows, I wanted to finish school with a memorable ending.

 

Where do you draw inspiration from for your designs?

A lot of research. Comparing, contrasting, and figuring out what needs to be on the forefront in terms of design, material and inspiration. WGSN was a tool I used; special thanks to the department whom provided this access to students. Of course, inspiration also was pulled from people themselves. From living in Long Island, working in NY, studying in Buffalo and abroad in Italy, I’ve been mentally surveying the up-and-coming.

 

Tell us the theme behind your designs for Runway 7.0

 My collection is called TRICHROMATIC. My theme embodies the way we as humans literally see the ever-changing technological world. The focus is on our optics, the RGB colors we sense, and the overlapping colors they create. I used a hand-woven iridescent silk dupioni as well as pure silk organza to best emphasize this idea. Lastly, my grant-winning custom silk print to tie it all together.

 

 What are your goals for designing? What type of person do you imagine that you’re designing for?

My goal for designing is to never choose to stop learning. This was a big leap for me; I never really designed anything before this collection. It’s important for me to never cut the momentum off, and to never be afraid to ask questions. Special thanks to Dr. Boorady whom was a great mentor through all of this.

The type of person I image designing for, is someone that is fashion-forward and isn’t afraid to appropriately stand out. I believe my designs, and further designs will be enjoyed by anyone that understands a collection’s accordance with today’s trends, colors, and designs- with of course the designer’s twist.

 

If you could design for one celebrity, who would it be and why?

Cara Delevingne popped in my head. Perhaps because she has this badass-sexy-grudge attitude in shots. Let’s settle on powerfully one-of-a-kind.

 

Could you give us a little preview of what to expect at Runway 7.0? What type of collection are you showing? What are the inspirations behind it/the philosophy guiding it?

Expect to see diversity. I know first-hand that we as seniors took this year’s theme “Chrysalis” quite differently. The show will be exciting to not only see our work, but the also the supporting work of other designers around us. TRICHROMATIC is a bold statement. It is a genderless line but not colorless in any sense. It was created on the philosophy of simply being the product and creation of everything that has come before it. It’s not an overwhelmingly in-your-face line; it’s not a recreation of something that has already been done in an overall sense.

 

Could you talk a little bit about your experience in Runway 7.0? I don’t think a lot of our readers are very clear on what it is/what the experience is like

If only our viewers could have been flies on the wall to everything prior to the show. We aren’t professionals, just young adults with a large sense of potential and momentum. For me, motivation to succeed and to create something great from an 8 month old vision. Let’s just conclude on two words: double all-nighters

As my experience as a whole, It’s fair to say that I have been shown a broad range of there information there is to know. This program built the platform I will take with me after I graduate next weekend. It has been difficult to juggle everything, but I get to walk away with great knowledge from this past semester. From sourcing, planning, doing and redoing, pinning, sewing, ripping, and obsessing over 1/8” difference- I have to see it as an experience that will only bring me bigger and better things.

 

What can you tell us about the color scheme, construction and how you went about making the collection on the more technical side?

I exacted the SS14 fashion colors to the RGB colors I used, as well as to my organza and custom print. As for construction, I started pattern making but soon came to realize I could not visualize an end product with only this method. I turned to draping as well as combining flat patterns. I created basic muslin samples, and held a good amount of fittings to reach my goal of fit and design. There was a lot to consider as well through the construction process, for example, cutting my silk dupioni a certain way so the audience can see the iridescence from where they are sitting.

 

What do you think is it about your work that sets you apart?

The ultimate goal of this collection was to be different and refreshing. Not just for the audience but for me as well. My work has 4 solid months of deliberation and research behind it; my theme and fabric set me apart. Lastly, taking risks was a factor of this journey. For example, my silk dupioni is mainly used in Indian dress.

 

Tickets for Buffalo State’s Runway 7.0 are still available online at Brown Paper Tickets. The show will be held Saturday May 10, at 3p.m. and 8p.m. in Social Hall. 

xoxo

-runway team

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

