Senior Designer Spotlight- Amy Tang ’14

Final line bd 5 pieces

A Hong Kong native, Amy’s Chrysalis collection was inspired by the shape and design of the butterfly wings. Our Runway team was fortunate to hear her story behind her collection, Butterfly Effect.

 

Tell us a bit about yourself, where are you from?

My name is Chingsum-Tang but I prefer to be called Amy. I’m from Hong Kong, and I enjoy talking to people.

 

What inspired you to become a designer?
I was a business major my first year in college. I felt that my creativity was not being challenged enough and I wanted to spread my wings. It wasn’t until my aunt helped me realize how good I was at fashion, that I decided to change my major. It was the best decision I ever made, I love it!

 

Where do you draw inspiration from for your designs?

The inspiration began with the idea of rebirth, from the darkness of the cocoon the butterfly emerges. The beauty that is displayed is showcased in my Runway 7.0 collection. From the design and color on the wings to the shape, I was inspired to create a day to night collection.

See Amy’s collection and more next Saturday – May 10th! Click HERE for tickets!

Xoxo

-Runway Team

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

