Senior Designer Spotlight: An Interview with Sabrina Carey-Cooke ’15

Line Board

Tell us a bit about yourself, where you’re from etc.

I’m from the Finger Lakes area, where I earned both a Fine Arts degree and a Liberal Arts degree.

Where do you draw inspiration from for your designs?

I draw my inspiration from many things, but mostly from the Fine Arts and other creative works.

Describe your collection in one word:

Elegance

Tell us the theme behind your designs for Runway.

My theme behind my designs is “Sassy but Classy”.

Concept Board

What do you think is it about your work that sets you apart?

What sets me apart is my ability to incorporate an artistic craft to my designs in multifunctional ways.

What other activities do you enjoy doing besides design?

I love art, especially painting as well as designing using CAD programs.

What are your goals for designing? What type of person do you imagine you’re designing for?

My goal is to become a successful independent designer. I imagine myself designing for an array of different women, from celebrities to a girl on a budget. Specifically, I design for women who take chances, who are bold yet still refined. My designs are for the kind of girl who loves to dress up and isn’t afraid of standing out.

Could you give us a little preview of what to expect at Runway? What type of collection are you showing? What are the inspirations behind it/the philosophy guiding it?

Well, I can say that what you should not expect in my collection are typical models being ‘muted’ down in fear of outshining my gowns. A woman wants to feel like a showstopper. If my gowns can’t speak for themselves with the model looking the best she can, than I failed to deliver my best. That being said, I will be delivering a show stopping collection. As for my inspiration guiding it, that would be my own personality.

What can you tell us about the color scheme, construction and how you went about making the collection on the more technical side?

My color scheme is very basic and monochromatic but used in ways that enhance both the structure and design of my gowns.

How many hours a day do you spend working on your collection on average?

Practically all day and all night.

How do you think your education has prepared you for Runway?

I learned how to develop an idea into an actual product.

Runway Fashion Show student portraits.

Post-grad plans?

I hope to get a job as a CAD Designer till I make enough to be an independent designer. 

Tickets on sale now –> click HERE

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

